Cost Accounting Mcqs Test
1. Costs that change in response to alternative courses of action are called:
a. Relevant costs
b. Differential costs
c. Target costs
d. Sunk costs
2. The cost data pertaining to Product ―X‖ of XL Ltd. are as follows :
Maximum capacity 30,000 units
Normal capacity 15,000 units
Increase in inventory 1,880 units
Variable cost per unit ` 12
Selling price per unit ` 50
Fixed manufacturing overhead costs ` 3,60,000
If the profit under Absorption costing method is ` 1,01,000, the profit under Marginal costing method
a. ` 1,46,120
b. ` 1,23,560
c. ` 55,880
d. ` 73,340
[Hint : Fixed cost per unit = ` 3,60,000 / 15,000 units = ` 24
Profit under absorption costing = ` 1,01,000
Adjustment of fixed manufacturing overhead costs of increased inventory = 1,880 units x ` 24 = `
Profit under marginal costing = ` 1,01,000 – ` 45,120 = ` 55,880]
3. The total cost incurred in the operation of a business undertaking other than the cost of
manufacturing and production is known as
a. Direct cost
b. Variable cost
c. Commercial cost
d. Conversion cost
4. Consider the following data for a company during the month of June 2012
Budgeted hours 4,000
Standard hours for actual production 4,400
Maximum possible hours in the budget period 4,800
Actual hours 3,800
The activity ratio of the company during the month is
[Hint : Activity ratio = Standard hours for actual production x 100
= 4,440 hours x 100 = 111%]
5. Total unit costs are
a.Independent of the cost system, used to generate them
b.Needed for determining product contribution
c.Irrelevant in marginal analysis
d.Relevant for cost-volume-profit analysis
6. Which of the following bases is not appropriate for apportionment of Transport department‘s cost ?
a. Crane hours
b. Crane value
c. Truck Mileage
d. Truck value
7. The cost of obsolete inventory acquired several years ago, to be considered in a keep vs. disposal
decision is an example of :
[Hint : Costs of obsolete inventory represent the sunk cost because the costs have already been
8. Budgeted sales for the next year is 5,00,000 units. Desired ending finished goods inventory is
1,50,000 units and equivalent units in ending W-I-P inventory is 60,000 units. The opening finished
goods inventory for the next year is 80,000 units, with 50,000 equivalent units in beginning W-I-P
inventory How many equivalent units should be produced?
[Hint : Using production related budgets, units to produce equals budgeted sales + desired ending
finished goods inventory + desired equivalent units in ending W-I-P inventory – beginning finished
goods inventory – equivalent units in beginning W-I-P inventory. Therefore, in this case, units to
produce is equal to 5,00,000 + 1,50,000 + 60,000 – 80,000 – 50,000 = 5,80,000.
9. If the asset turnover and profit margin of a company are 1.85 and 0.35 respectively, the return on
[Hint : Return on investment = Asset turnover x Profit margin = 1.85 x 0.35 = 0.65]
10. A company is currently operating at 80% capacity level. The production under normal capacity
level is 1,50,000 units. The variable cost per unit is ` 14 and the total fixed costs are ` 8,00,000. If the
company wants to earn a profit of ` 4,00,000, then the price of the product per unit should be
a. ` 37.50
b. ` 38.25
c. ` 24.00
d. ` 35.00
[Hint : Total fixed cost – ` 8,00,000
Expected profit – ` 4,00,000
Variable cost at 80% level
(80% x 1,50,000 units x ` 14) – ` 16,80,000
Total price – ` 28,80,000
Per unit price at 80% level = (` 28,80,000 / 1,20,000 units) = ` 24.00.]
11. Consider the following data pertaining to the production of a company for a particular month :
Opening stock of raw material ` 11,570
Closing stock of raw material ` 10,380
Purchase of raw material during the month ` 1,28,450
Total manufacturing cost charged to product ` 3,39,165
Factory overheads are applied at the rate of 45% of direct labour cost.
The amount of factory overheads applied to production is
a. ` 65,025
b. ` 94,287
c. ` 95,020
d. ` 1,52,624
[Hint : Raw material used= Op. Stock + Purchases – Cl. Stock
= ` 11,570 + ` 1,28,450 – ` 10,380 = ` 1,29,640
Manufacturing cost = Raw material used + Direct labour + Factory overhead
` 3,39,165 = ` 1,29,640 + Direct labour + 45% of Direct labour
1.45 Direct labour = ` 2,09,525
Direct labour = ` 1,44,500
The amount of factory overhead= 45% of ` 1,44,500 = ` 65,025.]
12. The budgeted annual sales of a firm is ` 80 lakhs and 25% of the same is cash sales. If the average
amount of debtors of the firm is ` 5 lakhs, the average collection period of credit sales months.
[Hint : Total annual sales = ` 80 lakhs
Total cash sales = 25 % of 80 lakhs. = 20 lakhs.
Total credit sales = 75% of 80 lakhs = 60 lakhs
Average amount of debtors = 5 lakhs = 1 months average credit sales.
Therefore, average collection period is 1 month.]
13. If the minimum stock level and average stock level of raw material ―A‖ are 4,000 and 9,000 units respectively, find out its reorder quantity.
a. 8,000 units
b. 11,000 units
c. 10,000 units
d. 9,000 units
[Hint : Average stock level = Minimum stock level + ½ Reorder quantity
9,000 units = 4,000 units + ½ Reorder quantity
½ Reorder quantity = 9,000 units – 4,000 units
Reorder level = 5, 000 units / 0.5 = 10,000 units]
14. A worker has a time rate of ` 15/hr. He makes 720 units of component (standard time : 5 minutes/
unit) in a week of 48 hours. His total wages including Rowan bonus for the week is
a. ` 792
b. ` 820
c. ` 840
d. ` 864
[Hint : Standard time = 5 times x 720 units = 60 hours
Time taken = 48 hrs.
Time saved = 12 hrs.
Total earning of a worker under Rowan plan
= (48 hrs. x ` 15) + ( 12 hrs. x 48 hrs. x ` 15)
= ` 720 + ` 144 = ` 864
15. A company maintains a margin of safety of 25% on its current sales and earns a profit of ` 30 lakhs per annum. If the company has a profit volume (P/V) ratio of 40%, its current sales amount to
a. ` 200 lakhs
b. ` 300 lakhs
c. ` 325 lakhs
d. None of the above
[Hint : Margin of safety = Profit/ P/V Ratio
= 30/0.40 = ` 75 lakhs
0.25 of sales = ` 75 lakhs
Hence, Sales = 75/0.25 = ` 300 lakhs]
16. Sale for two consecutive months, of a company are ` 3,80,000 and ` 4,20,000. The company‘s net
profits for these months amounted to ` 24,000 and ` 40,000 respectively. There is no change in
contribution/sales ratio or fixed costs. The contribution/sales ratio of the company is
d. None of the above
[Hint : Contribution / sales = Increase in profit / Increase in sales
= (40,000 – 24,000) / (4,20,000 – 3,80,000)
= 16,000/40,000 = 2/5]
17. A Limited has fixed costs of ` 6,00,000 per annum. It manufactures a single product which it sells for 200 per unit. Its contribution to sales ratio is 40%. A Limited‘s break-even in units is
[Hint : Break-even units = Fixed cost / contribution per unit
= ` 6,00,000/ 40% of ` 200
18. The current liabilities of Akash Ltd. is ` 30,000. If its current ratio is 3:1 and Quick ratio is 1:1, the value of stock-in-trade will be
a. ` 20,000
b. ` 30,000
c. ` 60,000
d. Insufficient information
[Hint : Current Ratio = Current Assets = 3:1
Current Assets = ` 30,000 x 3 = ` 90,000
Quick Ratio = Quick Assets = 1:1
Liquid assets = ` 30,000 x 1 = ` 30,000
Hence, value of stock-in-trade : CA – LA = ` (90,000 – 30,000)
= ` 60,000]
19. If the capacity usage ratio of a production department is 90% and activity ratio is 99% then the
efficiency ratio of the department is
[Hint : Efficiency ratio (ER) = Std. hr. of production ÷ Actual hrs.
Activity ratio (AR) = Std. hrs. for production ÷ Budgeted hrs.
Capacity ratio (CR) = Actual hrs. ÷ Budgeted hrs.
Hence, ER = AR / CR = 99% / 90% = 110%]
20. In two consecutive periods, sales and profit were ` 1,60,000 and ` 8,000 respectively in the first
period and ` 1,80,000 and ` 14,000 respectively during the second period. If there is no change in
fixed cost between the two periods then P-V ratio must be
[Hint : Change in profit = P/V Ratio
Change in sales
= 14,000 – 8,000
1,80,000 – 160,000
= 0.30 or 30%]
21. Horizon Ltd. Manufactures product BM for last 5 years. The company maintains a margin of safety of 37.5% with overall contribution to sales ratio of 40%. If the fixed cost is ` 5 lakh, the profit of the company is
a. ` 24.00 laks
b. ` 12.50 lakh
c. ` 3.00 lakh
d. None of A, B, C
[Hint : Break even sales = ` 5 lakhs ÷ 0.40 = ` 12.50 lakhs
Total sales = 12.50 . = ` 20.00 lakhs
(1 – 0.375)
Hence the profit of the company : ` 20 lakh x 0.375 x 0.40 = ` 3.00 lakhs]
22. The cost-volume-profit relationship of a company is described by the equation y = ` 8,00,000 +
0.60x, in which x represents sales revenue and y is the total cost at the sales volume represented
by x. If the company desires to earn a profit of 20% on sales, the required sales will be.
a. ` 40,00,000
b. ` 35,50,000
c. ` 24,00,000
d. ` 20,00,000
[Hint : Variable cost = 60% , therefore, contribution to sales ratio = 40% (P/V ratio)
Company‘s target profit 20% in sales, therefore, revised contribution which covers only fixed cost =
40% – 20% = 20%.
Required sales = fixed cost / revised contribution = ` 8,00,000/ 20% = ` 40,00,000.]
23. ABC Ltd. is having 400 workers at the beginning of the year and 500 workers at the end of the year. During the year 20 workers were discharged and 15 workers left the organization. During the year
the company has recruited 65 workers. Of these, 18 workers were recruited in the vacancies of
those leaving, while the rest were engaged for an expansion scheme. The labour turnover rate
under separation method is :
[Hint : Average number of workers = (400 + 500)/2 = 450
= No. of separations during the period x 100
Average number of workers during the period
= 20 + 15 x 100
24. One of the most important tools in cost planning is:
a. Direct cost
b. Cost Sheet
d. Marginal Costing.
25. Economies and diseconomies of scale explain why the:
a. Short-run average fixed cost curve declines so long as output increases.
b. Marginal cost curve must intersect the minimum point of the firm’s average total cost curve.
c. Long-run average total cost curve is typically U-shaped.
d. Short-run average variable cost curve is U-shaped.
26. Which of the following is not a relevant cost?
a. Replacement cost
b. Sunk cost
c. Marginal cost
d. Standard cost.
27. Which of the following is an accounting record?
a. Bill of Material
b. Bin Card
c. Stores Ledger.
d. All of these.
28. The fixed-variable cost classification has a special significance in preparation of :
a. Flexible Budget
b. Master Budget
c. Cash Budget
d. Capital Budget
29. Input in a process is 4000 units and normal loss is 20%. When finished output in the process is only 3240 units, there is an :
a. Abnormal loss of 40 units
b. Abnormal gain of 40 units
c. Neither abnormal loss nor gain.
d. Abnormal loss of 60 units.
30. Idle capacity of a plant is the difference between:
a. Maximum capacity and practical capacity
b. Practical capacity and normal capacity
c. Practical capacity and capacity based on sales expectancy
d. Maximum capacity and actual capacity.
31. When P/V ratio is 40% and sales value is `10,000, the variable cost will be
a. ` 4000
b. ` 6000
c. ` 10000
d. Variable Cost cannot be calculated from data given.
32. The forex component of imported material cost is converted
a. At the rate on the date of settlement
b. At the rate on the date of transaction
c. At the rate on date of delivery
d. None of the above.
33. Maximum possible productive capacity of a plant when no operating time is lost , is its
a. Practical capacity
b. Theoretical capacity
c. Normal capacity
d. Capacity based on sales expectancy
[Hint : Theoretical capacity is the denominator-level concept that is based on producing at full
efficiency all the time.,
Practical capacity is a denominator-level concept that reduces the theoretical capacity by
unavoidable operating interruptions such as scheduled maintenance time, shutdowns for holidays
and so on.
Normal capacity measures the denominator level in terms of demand for the output of the plant.
Normal capacity utilization is a concept based on the level of capacity utilization that specifies the
average customer demand over a time period, that includes seasonal, cyclical and trend factors.]
34. When production is below standard specification or quality and cannot be rectified by incurring
additional cost, it is called
[Hint : (1) Spoiled goods-goods that do not meet production standards and are either sold for their
salvage value or discarded; (2) Defective units-goods that do not meet standards and are sold at
a reduced price or reworked and sold at the regular or a reduced price; (3) Waste-material that is
lost in the manufacturing process by shrinkage, evaporation, etc.; and (4) Scrap-by-product of the
manufacturing process that has a minor market value.]
35. CAS 8 requires each type of utility to be treated as
a. Separate cost object
b. Not part of cost as not include in material
c. Not part of cost as they do not form part of product
d. Treated as administrative overheads.
36. Selling and distribution overhead does not include:
a. Cost of warehousing
b. Repacking cost
c. Transportation cost
d. Demurrage charges.
37. When overtime is required for meeting urgent orders, overtime premium should be
a. Charged to Costing Profit and Loss A/c
b. Charged to overhead costs
c. Charged to respective jobs
d. None of the above.
[Hint : When cost is incurred for specified job, the cost should be charged to that job only.]
38. Exchange losses or gains after purchase transaction is complete is treated as
a. Product cost.
b. Overhead cost.
c. Purchase cost.
d. Finance cost
39. Selling price per unit ` 15.00; Direct Materials cost per unit ` 3.50; Direct Labour cost per unit ` 4.00
Variable Overhead per unit ` 2.00; Budgeted fixed production overhead costs are ` 60,000 per
annum charged evenly across each month of the year. Budgeted production costs are 30,000 units
per annum. What is the Net profit per unit under Absorption costing method.
a. ` 9.50
b. ` 15.00
c. ` 11.50
d. ` 3.50
40. Which of the following cost is linked with the calculation of cost of inventories?
a. Product cost
b. Period cost
c. Both product and period cost
d. Historical cost
41. If, Sales = ` 800,000
Markup rate = 25% of cost
What would be the value of Gross profit?
a. ` 200,000
b. ` 160,000
c. ` 480,000
d. ` 640,000
42. Which of the following is TRUE when piece rate system is used for wage determination?
a. Under this method of remuneration a worker is paid on the basis of time taken by him to
perform the work
b. Under this method of remuneration a worker is paid on the basis of production
c. The rate is expressed in terms of certain sum of money for total production
d. The rate is not expressed in terms of certain sum of money for total production
43. The salary of factory clerk is treated as:
a. Direct labor cost
b. Indirect labor cost
c. Conversion cost
d. Prime cost
44. Average consumption x Emergency time is a formula for the calculation of:
a. Lead time
b. Re-order level
c. Maximum consumption
d. Danger level
45. EOQ is a point where:
a. Ordering cost is equal to carrying cost
b. Ordering cost is higher than carrying cost
c. Ordering cost is lesser than the carrying cost
d. Total cost is maximum
46. A worker is paid ` 0.50 per unit and he produces 18 units in 7 hours. Keeping in view the piece rate system, the total wages of the worker would be:
a. 18 x 0.50 = ` 9
b. 18 x 7 = ` 126
c. 7 x 0.5 = ` 3.5
d. 18 x 7 x 0.50 = ` 63
47. When closing stock is over valuate, what would its effect on profit?
a. Cannot determined with given statement
b. It will Increase the profit
c. It will decrease the profit
d. No effect on profit
48. A firm sells bags for ` 14 each. The variable cost for each unit is ` 8. What is the contribution margin per unit?
a. ` 6
b. ` 12
c. ` 14
d. ` 8
49. Which of the following is NOT true? A small company’s breakeven point:
a. Occurs where its revenue equals its expenses
b. Shows entrepreneurs‘ minimum level of activity required to keep the company in operation
c. Is the point at which a company neither earns a profit nor incurs a loss
d. Total contribution margin equals total variable expenses
50. Keller Co. sells a single product for ` 28 per unit. If variable costs are 65% of sales and fixed costs total ` 9,800, the break-even point will be:
a. 15,077 units
b. 18,200 units
c. 539 units
d. 1,000 units